HMC Exclusive: 2004 Toyota 4Runner with 554,000 Miles

Hi everyone. Sorry for the long delay. Life happens when you want to get things done. Anyways, today it’s time for a 4runner story. Now we are no strangers to the 4runner here at the High Mile Club. In fact they take up a sizable amount of our stories. I suppose you can thank Toyota and all the dedicated drivers who keep those 4runners 4running.

Today’s 4runner is a 2004 model from Sandy Ruben. It now has 554,000 miles on it. That puts it in our top 50. I wanted to share Sandy’s crazy story about his 4Runner.

From Sandy:

I just finished up my appointments, and I began my 2 1/2 hour ride back along a major highway. My car has 547,000 miles, but I’ve never had any major problems, so the high pitched beeping sound I hear has me concerned.

I look to pull over, and decide to put my 4 Runner in neutral. I coast along the highway and fortunately see an exit coming up soon.

If I go left, it’s uphill; if I go right, it’s downhill. As I proceed exiting right, all I see is trees for awhile. Then it opens up to another small highway; and I continue still to coast.

To the left, I see a hotel, and try to get over there, as most likely I’ll be spending the night there. My 10 mph is no match for the cars doing 65 mph, so I stay in my right-hand lane. I pass a “Gentleman’s Club”, a boarded up building, and a boarded up gas station. A stop light waits for me up ahead. Knowing I’m stuck at the light,sandy I make a right turn(still coasting). Incredibly enough, right in front of me is a Toyota dealer. I continue to coast and stop the car right in front of the office of the service entrance. (Before going inside, I try to start the car, and of course it’s dead!)

Back in 2004, when I was looking for a Toyota 4 Runner, I was in no rush. I drive all over the Southeast, so I’ll just buy it from the place that I can get the best deal.

I picked a Toyota dealer 115 miles from my house – Scott Clark Toyota in Charlotte. As I get out of the car, I look up, and It’s Scott Clark Toyota!  Apparently they moved 8 years ago, and my car found their new location.

After installing a new alternator, my trusty Toyota and I were back on the road within 2 1/2 hours. 

Driving a car with 547,000 miles is a little risky. I always wonder where and when it might break down. I never imagined in all these years that
it would e in front of a Toyota Service Center.

Wow! What a story, Sandy. the coincidences here are off the charts. We here at HMC are so happy you got your 4runner up and going again. Please keep us updated on any future milestones.

6 thoughts on “HMC Exclusive: 2004 Toyota 4Runner with 554,000 Miles

Add yours

  1. do you still have this 4runner? I have an 05 4runner with 422,777 original miles. Do you know what the highest mileage is on a 4runner with original engine/trans & everything works

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

TSX Travels "Have TSX-Will Travel"

Inspecting Wrecked Cars in the Beautiful State of Idaho

drivetofive

Legendary Quest for 500,000 Miles (And Beyond)