ALL THE CAMRYS

Hi everyone. I hope you are all doing well. I haven’t actually posted a story in a long while, so I’d like to make up for it by posting about HMC reader Palinda, who not only owns two Camrys, but has put one million miles on one and 600,000 miles on the other. That is quite the amazing feat. I’m going to list them here:

1998 Camry with 1,000,000+ Miles

From Palinda:

I reached the 1,000,000 miles on March 3, 2019. I have done at least another 10,000 miles since then but I have no way of recording the miles as my odometer is stuck at 999,999 miles. I have contacted the dealership where the car was purchased from but they are unable to locate a new odometer for the car. I am now thinking of writing to Toyota in Japan and asking if they can sell me a new odometer. How do the other cars on your high miles list record the miles after they reach 999,999 miles ? (From HMC: Good question. Can anyone answer that?)


The car was originally purchased from Charles Maund Toyota in Austin by a family friend who has now passed away.  When I purchased it from him in 2008 he had only done 27,000 miles. I use the car mainly for work and it still runs great with no problems. 

2003 Camcry with 600,000 Miles

Thank you for sharing your Camrys with us Palinda. Palinda was also wondering if anyone knew a way to get in contact with Toyota so she could replace her odometer.

2 thoughts on “ALL THE CAMRYS

Add yours

  1. Congrats Palinda on your achievements!

    I looked at online Toyota parts websites and it looks like the instrument panel has been discontinued. I would recommend finding someone who can reprogram your odometer back to zero. You can call a mechanic shop and ask if they know of anyone local to you who can do that. It takes a special machine to reprogram the odometer.

    I had to buy a new instrument cluster because my mileage lighting failed. I was able to get the new cluster odometer programmed to our car’s proper mileage for $100.

    You can also look on ebay. I searched “camry odometer service” and there was a listing for a place in Texas where you can ship your current instrument panel to get reprogrammed. It was $85.

    Good luck and congrats again.

  2. I don’t know what year the car is, but you can buy odometers online all day long. There are also services that fix them, you may be able to do it yourself if you are handy.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

TSX Travels "Have TSX-Will Travel"

Inspecting Wrecked Cars in the Beautiful State of Idaho

drivetofive

Legendary Quest for 500,000 Miles (And Beyond)