2003 Honda Accord is Newest Entry in the Top 50 With 646 000 Miles

Hi everyone. I hope you are all staying safe during these trying times. I bet many of you are probably not driving as much as you used to, but are longing to get back out on the roads. While we are all waiting out this horrendous pandemic, I’ll share with you a new car I’ve added to our Hall of Fame. Justin and Lisa Kilmer sent me some details about their 2003 Accord and I thought it would be nice to share the info with everyone.

From Justin and Lisa:

Our car hit 646,000 last night.  Here’s a recent pic when it was over 645k.  I just replaced the struts this past weekend.  That’s the third set of struts for it.  Last Friday, the AC compressor was replaced (mine was original).  We did the timing belt a couple weeks ago.  That has been done around every 105k miles like Honda recommends.


The engine is original.  Other than timing belt and accessory items like PS pump, alternator, and other minor items, the valve cover gaskets have been replaced and I had a new oil pan installed because the threads stripped on the drain plug hole.
It’s on the fourth set of spark plugs.
I used Castrol GTX 5w-20 and changed around the manufacturer’s recommended interval of 3,750 miles until around 140k when I switched to Mobil 1 5w-20.  I now change the oil at 15k mile intervals and have done that since around 140k.
Transmission was replaced at 320k because the original one developed a grind going into 3rd gear.  Found a junkyard tranny that I was told had 52k on it so we put that in then.
My front and rear bumper covers have been replaced over the years.  All other body panels are original paint.  A few door dings and that’s it.  
For the interior, I had the headliner re-done last year.  My driver’s seat is out of another Accord because my original seatback adjustment stripped out.
Only non-stock items are a cold air intake and Tsudo exhaust system.

Thank you for sharing that with us. I am doing to add your Accord to our hall-of-fame. Justin has more info on his car at Drive Accord. Safe driving to both of you!

7 thoughts on “2003 Honda Accord is Newest Entry in the Top 50 With 646 000 Miles

Add yours

  1. That is a great story! I rolled over 333,000 miles on my 08 Civic Coupe. Are you going for a million miles?

    1. Hi. That’s my goal for now. I’m estimating I’ll hit 700k by mid September. Good luck with your Civic!

  2. Thanks. I just hit 334,000 miles today. I havenā€™t driven much in the last 2 years. Was having a weird schedule, but maybe that will change in the upcoming year-2 years.

    I saw how you just amassed the miles over the last few years. That is impressive!

  3. Hi everyone I got my work truck is a 97 t100 with a 3.4 L Still running fine with 601610 millages to be honest I don’t know if is a record but there’s

    On Sun, May 24, 2020, 6:14 PM The High Mile Club wrote:

    > jasohill posted: ” Hi everyone. I hope you are all staying safe during > these trying times. I bet many of you are probably not driving as much as > you used to, but are longing to get back out on the roads. While we are all > waiting out this horrendous pandemic, I’ll shar” >

  4. When I got my 2006 civic SI, I new this was a great body change, my mechanic told me one of the best ways to keep ghe car going was to m as me sure you keep up with your oil changes. Now after normal wear and tear Iā€™ve reached 420,000 and still going.

    1. Wow! 420k is tremendous, especially considering the fact that the SI (at least from that generation) was a screamer. Yeah, I sold my Civic after 348k miles. I was coming back one day, and driving on the highway and the transmission felt like it wasnā€™t shifting into high gear aka OD. Well, there were no issues. Then I met a deer on the road a month later. I saw it from a distance, but there was nothing I could do, and the Civic sustained some body damage.

      I got the body fixed up, and then sold it.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

TSX Travels "Have TSX-Will Travel"

Inspecting Wrecked Cars in the Beautiful State of Idaho

drivetofive

Legendary Quest for 500,000 Miles (And Beyond)