Spotlight on a 1992 Honda Civic VX With Many, Many Miles

IMG_5397

Hi everyone. I want to apologize again for the long delays in blogging. I’ve had to put the blog on the back burner while life happened. But I’m trying to ease back into a regular schedule here. High-mile cars aren’t going anywhere for now, at least as long as we keep self-driving cars at bay, am I right? Anyways, let’s get going.

Today I’m gong to talk about a 1992 Honda Civic VX with 575,314 miles on it. The owner, Kenneth Hausmann bought the car brand new in 1992 and he tells me they are a rare class of car. IMG_5435Apparently only 1% of civics from this time were the VX model, or basically 12,000 units. They only came in three colors, red, green, and white.

The civic has been his daily driver, and looks and still runs well. He has shared some fuel efficiency info with me as well. It gets a max of 57.7mpg on the highway and averages 50mpg to 43 depends on highway or city. We don’t often get that kind of data here, so it’s nice to see.  He has driven the car around the US but it gets most of its mile around central Texas. Kenneth says he bought the car when he was 34 and plans to keep it for the rest of his life. He is currently 61. That is what I call dedicated car ownership.

IMG_5399

Thank you so much for sharing with us Kenneth, and sorry again about the delay in getting this story up. Please keep up updated on your civic. Kenneth and his Civic enter the top 50 in 45th place.

 

5 thoughts on “Spotlight on a 1992 Honda Civic VX With Many, Many Miles

Add yours

  1. I had to rebuild the engine at 489k, transmission at the same time. I had also replaced the transmission at 250k. I have had to replace most things such as starter, clutch slave cylinder, radiator, alternator, struts, etc. Fortunately I can do it myself and the parts are really cheap on ebay. It has stranded my only 2 times in 27 years.

  2. Nice article. I’ve got a ‘99 Civic Hatchback with 622,000 . Manual transmission. Still getting 34-37 mpg original engine …

  3. Like Kenneth Hausmann, I bought my VX (’93) new and still have it. 340k miles now. Engine has never been opened other than for valve adjustments. Transaxle apart once for some bearing replacement because it was no longer dead silent. Kenneth, I appreciate knowing that only about 1% (~12k) were sold in the US–didn’t know that. I treasure mine. A classic Honda feat of engineering; durable, efficient, holds nearly anything in the flexible interior, fun to drive, looks good–but not so good on interior noise. Unfortunately most VXs get snapped up by folks who swap a larger engine into it–eliminating the purpose of a VX.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

TSX Travels "Have TSX-Will Travel"

Inspecting Wrecked Cars in the Beautiful State of Idaho

drivetofive

Legendary Quest for 500,000 Miles (And Beyond)