HMC Exclusive – 2001 Hyundai Sonata GLS V6 with 460,000+ Miles

Posted: May 12, 2015 in 400000+
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

DSCN3616 Okay, here’s a cool story for a bad case of Mondayitis.  I’ve been communicating with Paul Silva, and when my e-mails aren’t landing in his SPAM box, he tells me he’s the proud owner of 2001 Hyundai Sonata GLS V6 with over 460,000 miles in the bank. Can you believe that? I can’t recall a time where a Hyundai had that many miles. I don’t doubt that there are any, but I’ve never seen an article about one. Paul’s might just be the first. DSCN3629 Anyways, back to Paul’s Hyundai. He tells me his miles are all original miles, and that the engine and transmission have never been rebuilt. Apparently, he’s owned four cars in his life and all of  them have gone over 300,000 miles, with one getting up past 400,000 miles. He says this isn’t by chance. He uses only conventional oil fro Valvoline and changes it every 4,000 miles. He also uses one can of Engine Restorer every other oil change.  His car passes the California Smog test every two years without any issues.  He usually drives 160 miles return trip to work and travels around California playing competitive pool.   He mentioned that he drove it as much as 10,000 miles in a single month in 2002. Wow! DSCN3619 It’s clear Paul is dedicated to his Sonata.   He mentioned that Hyundai sent him a gift pack and a $200 coupon for having a super high-mile Hyundai. You don’t see that from car makers anymore these days. Nice to see Hyundai step up to congratulate their customer, even if just a little. Paul is gunning for the hall of fame and hopes to do 500,000 big ones by next year. We will be tracking his progress all the way. I want that Sonata in my hall-of-fame!  Good luck Paul. It appears that South Korea is now making long lasting cars. Well done, Hyundai. Well, done.

Comments
  1. Dave Canova says:

    After seeing this on Facebook I thought I would say something short and sweet . Paula Silva is a good friend of mine and he purchased this car from me brand new. I won’t mention my name because that’s not important but its seeing cars that are built by South Korea finally getting recognition. Ihave owned Hyundais in the pastand my next new car will be a brand new Sonata or Genesis.As for myself I moved away to live in the Salem Oregon to retire and I like the weather up here better than California right now good job Paul. I am happy to see this and I’m happy that Paul took my advice on this car take care Paul thanks HMC.😀

  2. Dave Canova says:

    on Dave Canova post to Paul Silva it should read in the second sentence Paul Silva. thank you

  3. Paul Silva says:

    Thanks Dave!! I am glad that I took your advice to buy this Sonata in 2001. Its been the best and longest lasting car I have owned so far.

  4. tysonhugie says:

    That car looks amazing for the miles! Onward to 500k!

  5. Mark says:

    I am the proud owner of a 2004 Hyundai Sonata V6 with 506,000 miles and it has the original engine and transmission. Hyundai builds a quality automobile.

  6. […] Mile Club Exclusive member Paul Silva and his 2001 Hyundai Sonata have entered the Top fifty. I blogged about him a while ago, and at that time he was determined to get on the list. Well the time has come and Paul […]

  7. GustoGuy says:

    I have a 400 Thousand Mile Hyundai Elantra GT 2003 model. I have on the car since 2007 and I bought it when it only has 91000 I use Amsoil synthetic oil in automatic transmission fluid in it it still has the original engine and transmission and runs very well

  8. R says:

    I have a Hyundai Sonata 2005 with 124,969 miles. I would like to get a new car but I LOVE MY CAR. Would like to beat Hyundai mile record. Does anyone know the record? And Paul Silva has your car made 400,000 yet?????

  9. Douglas Nix says:

    A Hyundai dealership in St Louis had a 2011 Sonata 2.4 GDI on the showroom floor. It had 500K miles on it. This was in 2014. I didn’t hear the car run but the salesman said it ran well and was the original engine. They placed in the showroom floor to show customers that hyu”Ah gentlemen, you know why we are Hyundai does make long lasting cars.

    • Douglas Nix says:

      Damn auto fill! Last line should read:

      They placed it on the showroom floor to show customers that Hyundai does make long lasting cars.

Leave a Reply

