HMC Project: Highest Mileage in a Vehicle with a CVT Transmission

Posted: January 11, 2015 in Housekeeping
Tags: , , , ,
Thanks to Wikipedia user - OSX for use of this photo. Subaru CVT.

Credit: Wikipedia user – OSX Subaru Lineartronic  CVT.

Let’s start off the New Year with a little project. I’m putting this one out to all of you in car land. I bought my first new car a few years back. It’s a Mazda Demio Skyactiv 1.3, and I’ve put about 35,000km on it since I brought it home. This Demio came with a CVT transmission and I’ve been pretty happy with it so far. The gas mileage is about 21km/L on average, which is the highest I’ve ever had in a car.

I remember reading a few years back that CVTs were unpredictable, and that Nissan and MINI had tons of trouble with them. Not only this, but they were notoriously difficult to repair and replacing a CVT was stupid expensive. Upwards around $7000 dollars for a new Murano CVT.   What I’d like to know is, what is the highest-mile car with a CVT in it at the moment?I’ve read forum posts about Nissan Muranos with 100,000 miles on them, but I’d really like to know what the record is. I’m asking you, HMC readers. What’s the buzz? Tell me, what’s a happening? The answer to this question doesn’t have to come right away. But hopefully by the end of the year, we’ll have an answer.

Comments
  1. jimbob says:

    I dont know about nissan’s. But all prius’s have cvt’s don’t they. There are plenty of examples of high mileage prius’s out there

    • jasohill says:

      That is true. However, the cvt in a prius is a little different than a standard cvt. It appears to also be more reliable that a standard cvt as well. For this project, I’m looking an non Toyota cvt transmissions.

Leave a Reply

