Will it Go the Distance? – 2008 Honda Civic with 200,000 Miles

Posted: December 17, 2014 in Survery
Tags: , , , ,

I’m going to try my hand at a new section here. I’d like to call it “Will it go the distance?”  The idea of this column will be to ask the readers out there if a certain car will be able to handle going 500,000 miles or even a million miles.

Today’s request comes from HMC reader Shaubhik. He wants to know if he 2008 Honda civic is capable of doing the mileage we see here on the site. First I’ll give a history on the car.  When it got to 200,000 miles it began to overheat. It appears that his model of civic was covered under a recall, so Shaubik had the engine block (lower half) replaced under the recall. He also had the cylinder heads, a head gasket set, and a new timing chain/guides/tensioner installed. In essence, it was an engine rebuild.

Shaubhhik wants to know if he can do 500,000 miles in this Civic. He has become quite attached to the car. In my opinion, it should be possible, but I’d like to pass this along to you out there. What do you think? Will the car go the distance? Use the comments below to give your opinion.

Comments
  1. Shaubhik Roy says:

    Yeah, I am starting to believe it will go to 500,000 miles. Now time to drive!

  2. jasohill says:

    That’s good to hear. I think you can do it! I say drive, drive, drive!

    • Shaubhik Roy says:

      Happy New Year Jason! Ha, yeah there was a lot of driving in December. The bottom end of the motor is “new”, but yeah a lot of people are going to say you got a new engine, but I called this one dealer up, and the service advisor told me that it isn’t a new engine. She agreed that it is a subassembly of the motor.

      You know in the age of the internet, there are going to be a lot of naysayers, but I say that people like me, Tyson, and others should just ignore them.

  3. jasohill says:

    Happy New Year. I would agree it’s not a new engine at all. Even if it was, I don’t really care. We have stories of people using multiple engines. I think it’s still really interesting. I know people say the engine is the heart of the car and you shouldn’t count engine swaps. I don’t really care. It’s my site, my rules. Haha.

  4. Shaubhik Roy says:

    Exactly Jason! Yeah, thankfully I have slowed down a bit this month with the driving, as work has not called me to cross the Mississippi River a few times a week!

  5. Shaubhik Roy says:

    New short block would mean pistons and rods, but people have to look at if a new radiator is installed, thermostat, hoses, valvetrain (camshafts). I did get a new timing chain based on the old one being stretched, but that would be normal maintenance. We can’t be responsible for manufacturers and their defects. I have to admit the new short block has made my car a better performer. It runs better now than when it was brand new!

Leave a Reply

