1988 Volvo 740 GLE With One Million Miles

Posted: January 29, 2014 in 1000000+
Tags: , , , , , ,

*The Youtube video above features the car crossing 980,000miles.

Here is a breaking news story curtesy of Tyson Hugie at Drive to five. NBC nightly news is reporting that Volvo owner Vic Dres has taken his car to the limit. He drove his car to work everyday from 1988 to 1995. His trip is a little shorter these days, but it’s enough to put him over the one million barrier.  Volvo seems to have certified all his miles. Well, at least with their high mile program. Well done,  Vic! And thanks again to Tyson for passing along this great story.

Update: Here is an article from 1999 in the La Times that featured Vic and his car when it  ‘only’ had 622,000 miles. Amazing!

Comments
  1. Paolo R. says:

    I’m a lifelong Volvo enthusiast. What Mr. Dres did is remarkable, and gives hope to Volvo owners like myself. I have a 1991 740 with a mere 164k miles so I have a long ways to catch up.

    • jasohill says:

      Paolo, let me know when you hit your milestones. We are looking forward to blogging about your car here in the future. And yes, Mr.Dres has an amazing achievement.

  2. Paolo R. says:

    If you want, I can certainly send you some pics and info about my 740 if and when it hits the 200k milestone. But I do the vast majority of my driving in the summer and fall. I don’t drive it much in the winter, in order to minimize its salt and snow exposure (I live in northern VA).

    • jasohill says:

      That sounds like a great plan. When you hit that milestone, let me know, and I’ll do a quick interview with you. 200K miles is still quite an achievement.

Leave a Reply

